Welcome to the Senate Housing Committee

The Senate Housing Committee meets the 1st, 3rd, and 5th Tuesdays of the month at 1:30pm. Please check the Daily File and Bill Hearings tab more information or any changes.

If you have a position letter on any bills that have been referred to our committee, please submit them through the Advocates Portal, mail them to our address, or email our committee email as soon as possible. All letters are added to the official bill record and may be included in future analysis. Position letter deadlines only refer to making it into the analysis, but the committee always accepts letters for bills we have already heard or have yet to.

Please refer to the "Position Letters" tab for more information.

Hearing DatePosition Letter Deadline (by noon)
June 4May 29
June 18June 12
June 24June 19
July 2June 26

As of February 28, 2023, the Governor terminated the state's COVID-19 State of Emergency. Procedures put in place to accommodate the pandemic restrictions have been reverted back to pre-pandemic practices. Teleconference testimony during committee hearings will no longer be available.

The Senate continues to welcome the public and provides access to both in-person and written participation for public comment. If you are unable to attend a hearing in person, written comments or testimony can be provided directly to the committees by emailing the committee or utilizing the Advocacy Portal.

JURISDICTION: Bills relating to housing, including those that affect state housing funding programs for low- and moderate-income families, homelessness, housing elements and land use approvals for housing developments, housing successor agencies and the housing obligations of local financing districts, manufactured housing, building codes and standards, and common interest developments.

For information on how to submit a position letter please see the Advocacy Quick Reference Guide